Walter Scott Prize Event - Thursday 13th June

7th June 2024

The winner of the 2024 Walter Scott Prize will be announced next week at the Border Book Festival. The Walter Scott Prize shines a spotlight on the very best new historical fiction from across the UK, Ireland and Commonwealth. Our aim is to inspire people of all ages to discover the joy and value of historical fi ction, and to support authors intheir writing careers.

2024 Shortlist

THE NEW LIFE by Tom Crewe (Chatto & Windus)

HUNGRY GHOSTS by Kevin Jared Hosein (Bloomsbury)

MY FATHER’S HOUSE by Joseph O’Connor (Harvill Secker)

IN THE UPPER COUNTRY by Kai Thomas (Viking Canada/John Murray)

ABSOLUTELY AND FOREVER by Rose Tremain (Chatto & Windus)

THE HOUSE OF DOORS by Tan Twan Eng (Canongate)

You can find out more about each book on the shortlist here

The 2024 judging panel comprises Katie Grant (chair), James Holloway, Elizabeth Laird, James Naughtie, Kirsty Wark and Saira Shah.  Books must have been written in English, set more than 60 years ago, and published during 2023 in the UK, Ireland or the Commonwealth.  Shortlisted authors this year are from England, Ireland, Trinidad, Canada and Malaysia.

The winner will be announced at a special public event at the Borders Book Festival in Melrose on Thursday 13th June 2024, which also honours the winners of the prize’s counterpart for young writers, the Young Walter Scott Prize. We’re delighted to announce that all six shortlisted authors will be attending and reading from their work during the event. Tickets are on sale for the event here – book now!